St. Lucia – First time setting foot on the Caribbean

IMG_1156

 

Today was an extraordinary day. I decided to step off on land for the first time since Southampton at our first Caribbean destination on the island of St. Lucia and looked back at the front of our grand ship for the first time. I had to stay on the ship for the first half of the day, which is basically a system which a certain number of crew members have to stay on the ship at all times in case of emergency situations. I was one of those people carrying out these duties in what they call “In Port Manning”, but as soon as 1pm hit, I was off the ship and exploring the island. I walked off the ship and was immediately bombarded by taxi drivers and tourist guides, offering their services to take me anywhere around the island for cash and tips. I declined and just walked a few blocks north to an open market. I felt instantly immersed in local culture. Walking around this market was like taking a journey to another world. It was very dirty and much of a slum actually, but amidst the flea market poverty were unique local spices and tropical fruits that I have never seen before. Most of the local people speak English, and actually aging British influence that dates back many many years, the island drives their cars on the “wrong” side of the road, or the left side. 

 

I didn’t walk too far before I started to come back towards the ship dock. You could see the 87,000 ton ship MV Arcadia for miles around, which makes it easy to not get lost or not know where you are trying to get back to by the end of the day. There was a small restaurant and bar in front of the cruise liner, so I decided to take a seat. I was shortly joined by Tim, our drummer, and “Mr. Chris”, our stage director on board. I ordered fried plantains and we all had a couple drinks. I have been grateful enough that playing music has brought me some incredible travel experiences, but this has to be one of the most exotic. And I know we have so many other places in the Caribbean to visit! With the hot sun and humid climate of St. Lucia, I got the real sense that I had entered a tropical paradise.

4 responses to “St. Lucia – First time setting foot on the Caribbean

  1. That is so pretty. I cant wait to go on my cruise. Wish you were doing that one too. Glad you are having alot of fun. Looking forward to more post.

  2. Mike, what an adventure! So glad you’re enjoying it out there, and can’t wait to read more of your posts and watch the YouTube videos. Sorry so delayed but now that I’m out of school I can follow you along your journey 🙂

  3. Your music takes you to paradise, the music that also brings paradise to others. Thank you for sharing paradise through the reflection of your own eyes. Thank you for giving paradise to others through the reflection of your heart. XOX Mom

Leave a comment